Quoted from a news article written in 1972 by Margi Lash in the Geneva Times:
"For many years a small boy and girl under an umbrella have shared a secret as they shelter each other from the raindrops which complete the fountain so well known in Phelps.
In digging around for history of the charming fountain, Mrs. Mabel Oaks, town historian (1972), was
able to contribute that the fountain stood by the Auburn Road's New York Central railroad depot on
Pleasant St. with paintings of flowers around it."
Details of the history differ. Some say a New York City man gave the statue, and others say that Phelps
businessmen bought it after the Auburn railroad was completed in 1841. The statue has since been
restored and now stands on a concrete base at the Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Park on Main Street for
all to admire.
Copyright © 2001-2, Ontario County NYGenWeb and each contributor and author of materials herein. All rights reserved.